1885 Minnesota Census Statistics
Birthplaces Population Counts Racial Counts

1885 Minnesota Census
Population Count
Beltrami County

The following shows the 1885 Minnesota census population count for Beltrami county by area.
The Post Office, listed in the census for each area, is shown in parenthesis.

Area Count   Area Count
Unorganized Townships  (Lake Itasca and Fosston) 100 Red Lake Reservation  (Red Lake) 11
County Total 111


In 1885, Beltrami county included the following current day counties: Beltrami, Lake of the Woods, Clearwater and the eastern third of Roseau.

Fosston is located in Polk county.

The first schedule covers the following unorganized townships. These townships are in present day Clearwater County:
14336Itasca State Park
14436Itasca Township
14536Bear Creek Township
14537Minerva Township
14538La Prairie Township
14636Moose Creek Township
14637Nora Township
14638Falk Township
14736Shevlin Township
14737Copley Township
14738Popple Township
14836Dudley Township
14837Holst Township
14838Eddy Township

Copyright 2004 KinSource All Rights Reserved