1885 Minnesota Census Statistics
Birthplaces Population Counts Racial Counts

1885 Minnesota Census
Population Count
Blue Earth County

The following shows the 1885 Minnesota census population count for Hennepin county by area.
The Post Office, listed in the census for each area, is shown in parenthesis.

Area Count   Area Count
Beaufort Township  (Mapleton) 652 City of Mankato  (Mankato) Ward 1 2,551
Butternut Valley Township  (Lake Crystal) 631 Ward 2 1,547
Cambria Township  (Courtland) 357 Ward 3 1,392
Ceresco Township  (Willow Creek) 497 Ward 4 2,355
Danville Township  (Danville) 690 Mankato Township  (Mankato) 1,378
Decoria Township  (Mankato) 818 Mapleton Township  (Mapleton) 516
Garden City Township  (Garden City) 725 Village of Mapleton  (Mapleton) 447
Jamestown Township  (Marysburg) 556 Medo Township  (Medo) 850
Judson Township  (Lake Crystal) 611 Pleasant Mound Township  (Willow Creek) 574
Village of Lake Crystal  (Lake Crystal) 645 Rapidan Township  (Rapidan) 891
Le Ray Township  (Eagle Lake) 1,556 Shelby Township  (Amboy) 884
Lime Township  (Mankato) 748 South Bend Township  (South Bend) 520
Lincoln Township  (Madelia) 459 Sterling Township  (Sterling Centre) 741
Lyra Township  (Good Thunder) 1,053 Vernon Township  (Vernon Centre) 669
McPherson Township  (Winnebago Agency) 1,149    

County Total 26,462


Courtland is located in Nicollet county.
Marysburg is located in Le Sueur county.
Madelia is located in Watonwan county.

Sterling Centre and Vernon Centre are currently spelled Sterling Center and Vernon Center, but they were spelled "Centre" in the census.

© Copyright 2007 KinSource All Rights Reserved