1885 Minnesota Census Statistics
Birthplaces Population Counts Racial Counts

1885 Minnesota Census
Population Count
Hennepin County

The following shows the 1885 Minnesota census population count for Hennepin county by area.
The Post Office, listed in the census for each area, is shown in parenthesis.

Area Count   Area Count
Bloomington Township  (Bloomington) 852 City of Minneapolis  (Minneapolis) Wards 1 & 2 24,548
Brooklyn Township  (Brooklyn Centre) 1,183 Ward 3 19,222
Champlin Township  (Champlin) 564 Ward 4 22,991
Corcoran Township  (Corcoran) 1,246 Ward 5 18,997
Crystal Lake Township  (Crystal) 1,377 Ward 6 30,957
Dayton Township  (Maple Grove) 1,109 Wards 7 & 8 12,482
Eden Prairie Township  (Washburn) 785 Minnetonka Township  (Minnetonka) 981
Excelsior Township  (Excelsior) 881 Minnetrista Township  (St Bonifacius) 917
Greenwood Township  (Rockford) 639 Village of Osseo  (Osseo) 307
Hassan Township  (blank) 759 Plymouth Township  (Parker's Lake) 992
Independence Township  (Maple Plain) 1,050 Richfield Township  (Richfield) 1,726
Maple Grove Township  (Maple Grove) 1,184 Saint Anthony Township  (Minneapolis) 300
Medina Township  (Long Lake) 1,681 Village of Wayzata  (blank) 189
Minneapolis Township  (Minneapolis) 812    

County Total 148,731


Minneapolis Township - The eastern part of this township became part of Minneapolis proper, whereas the western part became the cities of Golden Valley and St. Louis Park. From Minnesota Geographic Names, by Warren Upham, 1969

Rockford is located in Wright county.

© Copyright 2002-2003 KinSource All Rights Reserved