1885 Minnesota Census Statistics
Birthplaces Population Counts Racial Counts

1885 Minnesota Census
Population Count
Lac Qui Parle County

The following shows the 1885 Minnesota census population count for Lac Qui Parle county by area.
The Post Office, listed in the census for each area, is shown in parenthesis.

Area Count   Area Count
Arena Township  (Madison) 215 Madison Township  (Madison) 587
Augusta Township  (Marietta) 244 Manfred Township  (Gary, D T) 198
Baxter Township  (Lac Qui Parle) 565 Maxwell Township  (Dawson) 249
Camp Release Township  (Montevideo) 445 Mehurin Township  (Marietta) 123
Cerro Gordo Township  (Madison) 632 Perry Township  (blank) 273
Freeland Township  (Canby) 219 Providence Township  (Canby) 306
Garfield Township  (Madison) 112 Riverside Township  (Dawson) 659
Hamlin Township  (Dawson) 211 Ten Mile Lake Township  (Boyd) 355
Hantho Township  (Appleton) 370 Walter Township  (Marietta) 110
Lac Qui Parle Township  (Lac Qui Parle) 515 Yellow Bank Township  (Odessa) 936
Lake Shore Township  (Appleton) 518    

County Total 7,842


Canby is in Yellow Medicine county, Montevideo is in Chippewa county, Appleton is in Swift county, Gary was in Dakota Territory, and Odessa is in Big Stone county.

Copyright 2004 KinSource All Rights Reserved